The oldest, simplest, and not-so-accurate classification of venous disease Widmer’s CNV:

  • Stage I: corona phlebectatica paraplantaris, edema.
  • Stage II: trophic damage (termite ocre, atrophy Blanche, lipodermatosclerosis).
  • Stage III: leg ulcer or ulcer scar.

Chronic venous insufficiency can be more accurately assessed using the CEAP (Clinical, Etiologic, Anatomical, Pathophysiological) classification. Clinical symptoms are divided into 7 classes from C0 to C6. Considering pain, discomfort, heaviness, burning sensation, and inflammation of the skin, they are also divided into symptomatic (C) and asymptomatic (A).

Simplified classification of (CVI CEAPB)

Clinical classification of Venous Disease (C0-C6, A or C):

  • C0 No visible or palpable varicose veins.
  • C1 – telangiectasic or reticular veins.
  • C2 – varicose veins.
  • C3 – edema.
  • C4 – trophic damage to the skin (pigmentation, stasis dermatitis, eczema).
  • C4A Pigmentation and/or venous eczema.
  • C4B Lipodermatosclerosis and/or pale atrophy.
  • C5 – trophic injury and scar of a healed ulcer.
  • C6 – trophic injury with an ulcer.
  • A – asymptomatic.
  • S – symptoms.

Etiological Classification of Venous Disease:

  • Congenital.
  • Primary.
  • Secondary.
    – post-thrombotic.
    – non-post-thrombotic.

Anatomical Classification of Venous Disease:

  • As – Superficial vein system.
  • Adz – Deep Vein System.
  • Ap – Perforating veins.
  • As+… – Multiple localizations at the same time.

Pathophysiological Classification of Venous Disease:

  • Pr – Reflux.
  • Po – Obstruction.
  • Pr+o – Reflux, and obstruction.


Was This Content Helpful?